AN INSIGHT INTO STUDYING MEDICINE

By Angela

What are my experiences of studying Medicine? What are some of the challenges? How do I deal with stress? How does it feel to be able to interact with patients?

Okay, to begin, my experience studying medicine has been very interesting. I am taking a unique path to medicine because I am in a combined medical program. I enjoy the path I took, although I will say that it is not for everyone. Medicine is a course that you can only study if you are passionate for it, you cannot passively study medicine. The subjects are tough and the material is complicated, microbiology, anatomy, cell biology, pathology, biochemistry, genetics. These subjects are no walk in the park. However, if you pursue medicine with passion and determination, you will succeed! Do not worry, there is a light at the end of the tunnel!

So the material is challenging, you got that, but what else? Being a medical student is not only academically challenging, but can also be physically and mentally draining. You will have days where all you do is wake up, eat, and study for 12 hours. You will miss family events, you will miss birthdays, weddings, and the fun stuff, you will make A LOT of sacrifices. This is only the beginning of your career in medicine. So, I know it sounds daunting, but I’m just trying to tell you that some of the lavish medicine lifestyles you see come with a price.

Now if you are still reading this, you may be on the fence about medicine, maybe I have scared you out of the profession, or maybe you are like come on girl, I want to know more! So stress, I am not sure what type of stress you have dealt with so far, but medical school will give you stress. Of course, stress varies from person to person and depends on what circumstances are going on in your life at the time, so just be weary of that. Personally, I get stressed occasionally, but I would not say stress controls my life. You just have to learn to cope with the challenges of medical school and seek outlets for relief like parents, siblings, religion, etc.

Last but not least, let’s talk about the real doctor stuff, seeing patients, being in the clinic, shadowing in the hospital. This is by far the best part of school, in my opinion. This is the real medicine learning and where you get to apply everything you learn in class. A helpful hint is to remember that we are all humans, doctors are humans, patients are humans, nurses, staff, etc. Do not go into a patient’s room with an ego on your shoulders, bad idea. You are trying to help the patient, not make them feel inferior. Seeing patients is fun, you just have to remember the humanism and altruism that doctors stand for. This is the best way to approach seeing patients.

So I know, that was a lot of stuff, and I may have left you more or less confused, but if you have any questions feel free to reach out! 


Angela is a 20 year old medical student, who is passionate about minority health and ethnic skincare. In her spare time, Angela enjoys cooking, blogging, shopping, and running. You can typically find her studying for her next exam or volunteering her time in the community. She seeks to aspire young people, specifically girls, through faith–exemplifying that the worldly woman is not the way of the wise woman. 

Check out her blog
Follow her on Twitter
Follow her on Instagram 

Share your thoughts with me... 💭

